At an adjourned meeting of the citizens of Clark County, Illinois, on the subject of railroads, assembled at the court house in Marshall, on Monday the 5th of March, Col. W.B. Archer, presiding.

   Mr. Greenough from the committee appointed at the last meeting, (March 1) to prepare a Preamble and Resolutions expressive of the sense of the people of this county on the subject of Railroads.

   Before the adoption of the Preamble and Resolutions, Col. Archer and Mr. Cooper addressed the meeting in favor of the resolutions.   After which the question was taken, and resulted in their adoption by a unanimous vote.

   On motion of Mr. Crane, a committee of three:  J.M. Crane, Uri Manly and John Allwood were appointed by the chair to select delegates to represent this county in the convention to be held at Salem, Marion County, Illinois, on the second Monday in May next—which committee retired, and in a short time appeared and reported the names of the following gentlemen as suitable persons to represent Clark County in said convention.

CLEAR CREEK---Andrew, Dunlap; Briggs, M.; Goldsby, Elisha; Stevens and James Elam.

LIVINGSTON---Joseph, Eversoll; Horace, Ritchie; and R.A. Ferguson.

MARSHALL---J.P. Cooper; J.K. Greenough; J.M. Crane; William Montgomery; R.L. Dulany; and Col. William B. Archer.

AUBURN---William J. Duckwall; and R. Bloomfield.

MARTINSVILLE---Robert Donnel; Doc. Gard; James V. Hedges; John Stockwell; Willis Dougherty; and G.W. Campbell.

RICHWOODS---Dr. Thomas; C. Moore, Charles Biggs; and William B. Marrs.

YORK---J.C. Hillebert; and John B. Richardson.

CUMBERLAND---Ewing Chancellor; and Samuel G. Haskins.

MELROSE---S.T. McNary; Nathan Wells; George Potter; and John Wickline.

DARWIN---William C. Hudson;  Allen Sackrider; Harry Ross; and James Lockard.

JOHNSON---T.P. Knapp; George Bennett; Elisha Cook; and J. A. Howe.

MILL CREEK---Nicholas Hurst; and George Coons.

   On motion, the chairman was added to the list of delegates from Marshall Precinct.  

   Mr. Manly moved that the delegation from each precinct be authorized to fill any vacancy that may occur in their respective delegation.

   On the motion “Illinois State Democrat” and all papers friendly to Internal Improvements, are requested to publish the proceedings of this meeting.

On motion, the meeting adjourned.